This widget could not be displayed.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

zen 3 motherboard compatibility

okarimnvo
Star I

im a firt tie builder. i have my cpu already (ryzen 5 5600x). If i buy any new asus or msi motherboard of the right chipset, will they be compatible with my cpu out of the box without the need of a bios update?

2 REPLIES 2

malaika121
Star II

Hi @okarimnvo 

Most new ASUS and MSI motherboards with the right chipset will be compatible with the Ryzen 5 5600X out of the box without the need for a BIOS update.

However, it is always a good idea to check the motherboard manufacturer's website for a list of supported CPUs and BIOS versions before you buy. This is especially important if you are buying an older motherboard or a motherboard from a less well-known brand.

Here are some popular ASUS and MSI motherboards that are compatible with the Ryzen 5 5600X out of the box:

• ASUS ROG Strix B550-E Gaming
  • ASUS TUF Gaming B550M-Plus Wi-Fi
  • MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk MAX WIFI
  • MSI MPG X570S Edge MAX WIFI
  • ASUS ROG Strix X570-E Gaming
  • MSI Meg X570 Ace

If you are buying an older motherboard or a motherboard from a less well-known brand, you may need to update the BIOS before you can use it with the Ryzen 5 5600X. This is usually a simple process that can be done using a USB drive.

Here are some tips for updating the BIOS on your motherboard:

• Download the latest BIOS file from the motherboard manufacturer's website.
  • Extract the BIOS file to a USB drive.
  • Boot your computer into the BIOS.
  • Find the BIOS update option and select the BIOS file from the USB drive.
  • Follow the on-screen instructions to update the BIOS.
  • Once the BIOS has been updated, your motherboard will be compatible with the Ryzen 5 5600X.

Please note: It is important to never interrupt a BIOS update. If you do, you may damage your motherboard.

Jiaszzz_ASUS

Hello, @okarimnvo