This widget could not be displayed.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Z790 dark hero USB speeds all over the place. Enabling XMP makes it USB 2

greggyp89
Star I

My USB speeds where getting around 40 Mbps in my build for 8k video editing. So I spent the whole weekend trying to check drivers and settings. I tried everything and then decided to clear cmos. After that I'm getting very limited USB 3 speeds. It's up for one second and then down to 40 then down to 30, 20 and even 20 Mbps. M getting super sad my old PC ran my memory card at 400 Mbps no issue. Now I can't use my RAM which I already had to take out two sticks because apparently you can't use all four sticks at ddr5 speeds? I'm new to PC building but everything came out great. I am using PCIe gen 5 NVMe and 3080 graphics card. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Jiaszzz_ASUS

Hello, @greggyp89 

May I ask if you are currently experiencing issues with USB downspeeding and memory overclocking?
Regarding the USB downspeeding, could you please specify which port on the motherboard you are using, if you have attempted cross-testing with different ports, as well as the current BIOS version?
If you haven't updated to the latest version 0801 released on December 22, 2023, please consider updating and clearing CMOS, then check again.
As for memory overclocking, may I inquire about the brand, model, and part number of the memory you are installing?
We would recommend installing memory listed in the QVL for the ROG MAXIMUS Z790 DARK HERO to ensure compatibility and stability.
Please find relevant information in [Motherboard] How to query (CPU/memory) QVL List? and the "purchasing and installation guide" located in the upper left corner of the QVL page.

Thank you.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Jiaszzz_ASUS

Hello, @greggyp89 

May I ask if you are currently experiencing issues with USB downspeeding and memory overclocking?