Did you mean: 

Heating problem

Maarten
Star III
Model Name: Rog phone 3
Firmware Version: WW 31.0210.0210.230
Rooted or not: Not
Frequency of Occurrence: Most of the time
So my phone had some heating problems i think. It isn't even 2 years old but with 25 degrees in the room constant the phone was around 50 degrees in idle and during gaming the cpu went to 75 degrees if the armory crate is right.
Happily i am a phone technician, so i toke the phone apart. What i noticed is that the cheap white thermal paste used by asus wasn't even covering the whole chip, the copper from the cooling was discoloured where the paste was lacking. Besides this there is a lot of space between the chip and the cooler. funny thing is that the cheap white paste wasn't even dried out yet.
So i used the best paste there is and after testing the phone idle was 42 degrees and topped at 72.
Then i toke a rog phone 2 frame, toke off the copper contact plate between the chip and cooler and placed it in my rog phone 3. Now idle is at 38 degrees and toppes at around 70.
Next to this, using geekbench 5 before and after the phone now gives 5.11% higher multi core scores, so the interface between chip and cooler was not good at all...
Why asus did you guys not make this right? Is it too much to ask for when paying over €1200 for a phone?
5 REPLIES 5

Danishblunt
Hall of Fame I
Maarten
  1. Model Name: Rog phone 3
  2. Firmware Version: WW 31.0210.0210.230
  3. Rooted or not: Not
  4. Frequency of Occurrence: Most of the time

So my phone had some heating problems i think. It isn't even 2 years old but with 25 degrees in the room constant the phone was around 50 degrees in idle and during gaming the cpu went to 75 degrees if the armory crate is right.