This widget could not be displayed.
This widget could not be displayed.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thermal throttling on Asus TUF FX504 GM, and Package Temp goes up to 99 degrees C

reetrocker
Star I
System: TUF gaming, i5 8th gen, 8GB (+8 GB) RAM, NVidia GTX 1060 6GB graphics card
Battery or AC: AC
Model: TUF 504GM
Frequency of occurrence: Every time I play game, happens every 5 secs in gam-
Reset OS: Yes
Screenshot or video:
===Attached =====================
Detailed description:
I have been using the laptop for 3 years now, and I have been facing this issue since the very beginning. Initially, I was unable to figure out why this was happening and thought I was doing something wrong. Because even in 2021, every game that launches there is no way they will not run on this laptop lower than HIGH graphics settings, but instead every time I play games I get these massive frame drops from 60 or 50 FPS all the way down to 9 or 11 FPS. Every 5 to 10 seconds in-game. I even added an 8GB RAM thinking it might be due to low RAM, but the issue was persistent. 

My laptop heats up so much and the FPS drops keep happening. Then 5 months back I found the issue to be Thermal Throttling which is causing this. I opened a case with ASUS and have an engineer visit my home and he changed the thermal paste, and everything was working nice and properly for the first time. 

Now again after 5 months, I am back to this same issue and any game you open on this laptop is absolutely unplayable because of these insane frame drops all because of the thermal throttling.